Not another damn blog!

Blogging is dead, yeah? I’ve read that. You may have, too. Everyone uses the almighty social media these days to get their communication on. We Tweet, we Facebook, we Instagram…heck, we’re even Vining these days. What in the world makes me think I have anything to say that someone else hasn’t said to date? Do I really think that there’s room out there for another blog?

Well, I think there’s room for my blog, that’s for sure. And maybe, just maybe, there will be people who want to read the things I write. If so, that’s cool. We’ll chat, maybe. Talk it all over in a way that respects each other. Poke gentle fun at each other over our beliefs, walk away feeling warm and fuzzy about the connections we’ve made. But mostly I’m interested in just having a place on the wonderful intarwebs for my stuff. Despite having hung around online for more than a decade, this is my first serious attempt at putting something out there for the whole world to see. Scary! But at the same time, it feels great. I want to write about the thinks I think, and that means I need a place to put said thinks. Voila! FPLB is born.

So, what kind of posts might you find here at Fluffy Pink Lady Brainz headquarters? This very question was part of what kept me from blogging until this point: I had no idea what to write about. But I’ve finally gotten to the point where I realized that it doesn’t really matter what I write about as long as it’s something that interests me, and then it’s all good. So, just what is it that interests me? Ah, for that, you’ll have to keep reading! In all seriousness, I’m kind of an oddball amalgamation of interests. Mostly, what I hope to accomplish is to have a space where “mainstream” folks can look inside the mind of someone who could very well be their neighbor and see that just because the person next door seems to be such a nice, normal, suburbanized individual, they may hold some really radical ideas. They may be, dare I say, a closet feminist. Or an atheist. Or politically moderate with some progressive leanings. Middle America (and other places) may just discover that their neighbor, the person who waves as they drive by and brings over your mail that was delivered to their house in error, has some “weird” ideas and interests, but by golly all in all they seem like a decent person to live next to.

Cuz I’m really not so different from most people. I want a nice place to live, nice people to live near, a job that at the very least doesn’t drive me crazy and brings in a bit of income, and some entertainment that I enjoy. (I also want everyone else to have the opportunity to have those things, too, which is just crazy talk in some circles.) Just because I have a really warped and occasionally silly sense of humor doesn’t make me a bad person. Just because I believe that all people should be treated with respect doesn’t mean I’m a wild-eyed radical! Sure, there are things that make me angry, and I’m sure I’ll get around to ranting about them from time to time. There are things I believe that mark me as not really one of the average populace. Sometimes, I expect if there’s anyone out there reading that they’ll see something I put here and say “Wow, that is OUT there!” But if you met me on the street, just had a typical interaction like you might have with any stranger you meet, you would think I’m perfectly “normal”. So this is the space where hopefully maybe one or two people will read the things I write and think for just a second before they condemn another person’s choices and ideas. Perhaps, just maybe, something I write here will give someone pause before they start a knee-jerk reaction to criticize, demonize, or otherize. Hopefully they’ll think “Hey, that Fluffy Pink person thinks that same thing, and she doesn’t seem all bad…”

I’m an Old. I’m a woman. I’m a wife and a mother. I’m out there, and at the same time, I’m conventional. I think some things have changed too much in my lifetime, and others have changed too little. So this is the place for me to write about all that.

And if you choose to stay and read, welcome!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

